And the Nicholl Fellowship Winners are…

ampasby Team TVWriter™ Press Service

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the winners of this year’s Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, probably the most important screenplay writing competition in the U.S. because of what it can do for the winners’ careers.

The winners (the Academy calls them “fellows” because, hey, “fellowship”) and their screenplays are:

Sam Baron (Cambridge, UK), The Science Of Love And Laughter

Alisha Brophy (Los Angeles) and Scott Miles (Austin), United States of Fuckin’ Awesome

Melissa Iqbal (London), The Death Engine

Sallie West (Charleston, SC), Moonflower.

Winners – oops, we mean Fellows – receive a $35,000 prize (the writing team splits it), the first installment of which will be handed over November 13th at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The fellows – whew, caught it that time – were selected from a record 7,511 submitted scripts and are responsible for completing their own new feature-length screenplays during their fellowship year,

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has awarded 137 fellowships since 1986.  To which we can only add, “Thank you. Thank you very much.”