Lois Vossen Empowers Filmmakers to Face the Future

Fascinating. This article and the video it links to fill this TVWriter™ minion with hope.

via indiewire.com

Tales of corporate malfeasance, humanitarian efforts to help victims of natural disasters, the international struggle for an independent press, public land use that threatens to exacerbate income equality, conditions at Chinese factories, the unclear future of healthcare in Afghanistan, the history of “Sesame Street”: All these topics are prominent in the documentary world in recent months. And they were all subjects of films shown on “Independent Lens.” read article

LB: L.A. Life for the Creative

by Larry Brody

Forget all the high prices and crowded freeways and all that other bad P.R. The truth is that if you’re a new writer coming to Hollywoodland to make it in the major leagues, there’s no place more welcoming and supportive of your efforts.

Really. Everybody knows it. I mean, nationally syndicated cartoons don’t publish anything that isn’t a take on common knowledge, right?

read article

Inside the ‘WandaVision’ Writers Room…we mean Zoom…we mean…

The Writers Guild of America West gives us another excellent look into the craft of writing TV.

Check out the WGAW YouTube page

Cartoon: ‘Yoga for Readers’

To be a good reader, you not only have to write your butt off, you need to read even more. (We can hear the body parts dropping in our mind’s ears.) Today, our favorite cartoonist-philosopher, Grant Snider gives us a visual lesson reading that speaks for itself. (Although we feel duty-bound to remind y’all that these positions may not be nearly as productive if you try ’em while you write.

More of Grant Snider’s sensitive perception of humanity and creativity at Incidental Comics, HERE

The Most Important News of the Day for WGAW Members – past, current, and future

via Writers Guild of America West

September 21, 2021

Writers Guild of America West today announced the results of its 2021 Officers and Board of Directors election.

The following members were elected to serve as officers: President – Meredith Stiehm; Vice President – Michele Mulroney; Secretary-Treasurer – Betsy Thomas. read article