19th Annual Webby Award Nominees Announced

The following info is Need-to-Know. And, yeppers, if you’re serious about a career as a creative force in TV you need to know:


by Natalie Jarvey

Vice Media is the one to beat at the 19th annual Webby Awards.

The youth-oriented media company came out on top with 17 nominations when the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences revealed its nominees for the Internet culture award show on Tuesday morning. Other companies with strong showings include CollegeHumor with nine nominations, Funny or Die and HBO tied with eight nominations, The Guardian with seven nominations and Comedy Central and Mashable tied with six nominations.

Other nominees, which were determined from nearly 13,000 entries, include The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon, live streaming company Twitch, Vimeo’s High Maintenance and mobile game Monument Valley.

A small group of Academy members will select this year’s winner’s from the nominations. They include Conan O’Brien, Tumblr founder David Karp, Arianna Huffington, YouTube creator Freddie Wong, Internet pioneer Vint Cerf and DoSomething.org founder Nancy Lublin. The public can also cast votes for the Webby People’s Voice Awards until April 23.

“This year’s nominees are moving Internet culture — and society — forward through their sophisticated technology, sleek user design, and social influence,” said Webby Awards executive director David-Michel Davies. “Each of this year’s nominees are raising the bar in their respective categories and we are excited for the public to weigh in with their votes for this year’s Webby People’s Voice Winners.”

The Webby Awards winners will be honored in a ceremony hosted by comedian Hannibal Buress on May 18 at Cipriani Wall Street. A stream of the award show will be available the next day on the Webby Awards website.

Here is a list of highlights from the nominations:

Humor (Websites)
Funny Or Die
The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon
Fill the Silence

Social Media (Websites)
Mash Stories

Read it all

And don’t forget to vote HERE