by TVWriter™ News Service

The Writers Guild of America West’s nominating committee has announced the initial list of candidates for the 2020 Board of Directors election.

There are 18 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the Board of Directors as follows: Adam Starks, Patti Carr (inc.), J. David Shanks, Ashley Gable (inc.), Betsy Thomas (inc.), John Lopez, Carlos Foglia, David Slack (inc.), Rob Forman, Patric M. Verrone (inc.), Scott Rosenbaum, Andrew Ti, Katherine Beattie, Daniel Kunka, Travis Donnelly (inc.), Deric A. Hughes (inc.), Leland Jay Anderson, Eric Haywood.

Note: WGAW internal rules require candidates to be announced in an order determined by lot; (inc.) denotes an incumbent candidate.

In addition to the candidates selected by the Guild’s Nominating Committee, eligible members may also be nominated by petition. Members seeking nomination for the Board of Directors must obtain 15 member signatures in support of their petitions. The deadline for submitting signed petitions to the WGAW is Thursday, July 23, 12:00 p.m. (PT). Members may submit online nomination petitions by visiting the members-only section of the Guild’s website: www.wga.org.

The WGAW will host a virtual Candidates Night forum, where Guild members may pose questions to the candidates, on Wednesday, September 2.

Guild members will receive voting materials, including links to candidate, non-candidate, and rebuttal statements, if any, on August 31. Candidates may distribute additional campaign materials at their own expense. The voting period concludes on Monday, September 21, at 12:00 p.m. (PT). Members may vote online or request a paper ballot to vote by mail. In accordance with labor law, proxy voting is not permitted.