WGA, West Announces 2014 Board of Directors Candidates

copyright 2001 National Geographic - & yes, we know it's misleading...but it's also great!
copyright 2001 National Geographic – & yes, we know it’s misleading…but it’s also great!

by Team TVWriter™ Press Service

The Writers Guild of America, West’s Nominating Committee has announced the initial list of candidates for the 2014 WGAW Board of Directors election.

There are 17 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s Board of Directors as follows: Aaron Fullerton, Cynthia Riddle, Peter Lefcourt, Stan Chervin, Chris Derrick, Michael Oates Palmer (inc.), Chip Johannessen (inc.), Doug Atchison, Peter Murrieta, Marjorie David (inc.), Scott Alexander (inc.), Aaron Mendelsohn, Jonathan Fernandez, Katherine Fugate (inc.), Courtney Ellinger, Shawn Ryan, Shernold Edwards.

In addition to the candidates selected by the Nominating Committee, eligible members may also be nominated by petition. Members seeking nomination for the Board of Directors must obtain 25 member signatures in support of their petitions. The deadline for submitting signed petitions to the WGAW is Wednesday, July 23, 12:00 p.m. (PDT). Members may submit online nomination petitions by visiting the members-only section of the WGAW’s website at: www.wga.org.

The WGAW will host its annual “Candidates Night” forum, where Guild members may meet and pose questions to their 2014 Board of Directors candidates, on Wednesday, September 3, at WGAW headquarters in Los Angeles.

Guild members will receive candidate, non-candidate, and rebuttal statements, if any, with their ballots prior to the election. Candidates may distribute additional campaign materials at their own expense. The voting period concludes at 12:00 p.m. (PDT) on Tuesday, September 16. Members may vote by mail, online, or in person from 9:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. (PDT) at the Guild on September 16. In accordance with labor law, proxy voting is not permitted in Guild elections of Board members. Ballots will be counted on September 16, and election results announced pending final tally.

The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) is a labor union representing writers of motion pictures, television, radio, and Internet programming, including news and documentaries. Founded in 1933, the Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members. It is involved in a wide range of programs that advance the interests of writers, and is active in public policy and legislative matters on the local, national, and international levels. For more information on the WGAW, please visit: www.wga.org.