ViacomCBS Reveals Writers For 2020-2021 Mentoring Program

TVWriter™ congratulates all the selectees! (Yeah, we probably should just say “winners,” because although this isn’t being called a contest, that’s in effect what it is, and Sara Casey, Yakira Chambers, Bradley Estrin-Barks, Natasha M. Hall, Manuel Herrera, Nina Kim, Janene Lin, Obiageli (Obi) Odimegwu, Melissa Park, and Andrew Saito deserve to be honored as such.

Here’s the skinny.

by Alexandra Del Rosario

ViacomCBS has revealed the 11 writers set to participate in its annual Writers Mentoring Program. The network announced Thursday its lineup of scribes, selected from a pool of over 1,600 applicants, with varying experiences and backgrounds.

The eight-month mentoring program will pair the selected writers with ViacomCBS executive mentors, who will help them create new content. After the mentorship period, the writers will partake in a 16-week workshop where they will learn the ins and outs of the television industry. During that mentorship period the writers will also have access to agents, executives, showrunners and producers.

“Our program focuses on professional growth by supporting emerging writers in their craft and providing opportunities to build relationships with Network executives and showrunners,” said Tiffany Smith-Anoa’i, Executive Vice President, Entertainment Diversity and Inclusion, Global Inclusion, ViacomCBS. “All of the participants from last year are now staffed on Network shows, including Mom, Bull, Magnum P.I. and the upcoming The Equalizer and Clarice, and many of our alumni have gone on to become executive producers and showrunners on various television series.”

Read all about the individual winners at