The 2020 Hugo Award Winners have been Announced

by TVWriter™ Press Service

The Hugo Awards are the Golden Globes of science fiction, conferred this year on August 1, 2020 at the 78th World Science Fiction Convention in New Zealand. This year, thanks to our oh-so-close bud COVID-19, the convention was entirely virtual.

According to Tor.Com:

Nominations for the 2020 and 1945 Hugo Awards were submitted by the members of CoNZealand, the 78th Worldcon, and Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon. 1,584 people submitted 27,033 nominations for the 2020 Hugo Awards, and 120 people submitted 1,677 nominations for the 1945 Retrospective Hugo Awards.

The Finalists are named in the video above. Here is the official list of winners:

Astounding Awards

Best Novel

A Memory Called Empire, by Arkady Martine (Tor; Tor UK)

Best Novella

This Is How You Lose the Time War, by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone (Saga Press;
Jo Fletcher Books)

Best Novelette

Emergency Skin, by N.K. Jemisin (Forward Collection (Amazon))

Best Short Story

“As the Last I May Know”, by S.L. Huang (, 23 October 2019)

Best Series

The Expanse, by James S. A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Best Related Work

“2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech”, by Jeannette Ng

Best Graphic Story or Comic

LaGuardia, written by Nnedi Okorafor, art by Tana Ford, colours by James Devlin (Berger
Books; Dark Horse)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Good Omens, written by Neil Gaiman, directed by Douglas Mackinnon (Amazon
Studios/BBC Studios/Narrativia/The Blank Corporation)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

The Good Place: “The Answer”, written by Daniel Schofield, directed by Valeria Migliassi
Collins (Fremulon/3 Arts Entertainment/Universal Television)

Best Editor, Short Form

Ellen Datlow

Best Editor, Long Form

Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

John Picacio

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas,
nonfiction/managing editor Michi Trota, managing editor Chimedum Ohaegbu, podcast
producers Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

The Book Smugglers, editors Ana Grilo and Thea James

Best Fancast

Our Opinions Are Correct, presented by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders

Best Fan Writer

Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist

Elise Matthesen

TVWriter™ congratulates the winners!

Everything you need to know about the 78th World Science Fiction Convention