Getcher New York Television Festival Winners List Right Here


by Team TVWriter™ Press Service

The 11th annual New York Television Festival wrapped last weekend with a full day of events for independent TV creators, industry executives and TV fans. This included four of the 34 educational sessions that took place this week, as well as the popular, annual late-night writers panel, a special live taping of the Vulture Podcast, and annual NYTVF Awards.

At the awards reception, NYTVF ( announced the winners of its flagship Independent Pilot Competition (IPC) in 13 categories, with “Best of the Fest” honors going to “The Katering Show” and “The Parker Tribe”, the latter of which was also recognized with the annual Critics Award. Recipients of development deals from the NYTVF’s network and studio partners were also announced.

2015 marked the fourth consecutive year that NYTVF has facilitated at least 20 development deals for independent television artists. Since the first deal was guaranteed by an NYTVF partner in 2007, more than 125 have been awarded.

“It’s an exciting time to love TV, create TV and develop TV – across all platforms – and this year’s Festival harnessed this excitement as fans, executives and independent artists celebrated this art form,” said NYTVF Founder and Executive Director Terence Gray. “We saw a real uptick across the board in the quality of submissions this year, resulting in strong engagement by industry decision-makers, and a record number of meetings taking place throughout the week between these partners and our Official Artists.”

Of the more than 2,000 submissions received this year, 103 projects were selected for the IPC or as finalists/semi-finalists in other NYTVF initiatives, with more than 325 Official Artists invited to attend the Festival. These artists participated in more than 400 networking and pitch meetings with industry executives while thousands of artists, fans and industry attendees took advantage of the screenings, red carpet premieres, panels and parties that took place at the Helen Mills Theater and Event Space, the SVA Theatre and Tribeca Three-Sixty from October 19 – 24, 2015

The following Official Selection of the NYTVF’s flagship competition were presented with awards across 13 categories.

Best Comedy Pilot: “New Partner” Created by Quinn Beswick and Josh Margolin (Los Angeles, CA) Welcome to the the cursed existence of Ron Robinson, a cop who can’t stop getting his partners killed.

Best Drama or Dramedy Pilot: “Riftworld” Created by Jonathan Williams, Andrew Nicholas McCann Smith, and Laura Perlmutter (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) A struggling journalist teams up with a dimension-traveling wizard to help him find his way home.

Best Short-Form Digital Series: “The Katering Show” Created by Kate McLennan and Kate McCartney (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) The journey of a food intolerant and an intolerable foodie.

Best Unscripted Pilot: “Funny Cause It’s True” Created by Victor Varnado (New York, NY) A “Mythbusters”-style look at the world of comedy that deconstructs a comedian’s act from the inside out.

Best Actress (Comedy): Becky Yamamoto and Meghan O’Neill for “2 Chans”

Best Actor (Comedy): Marshall Stratton and James Coker for “The Other Kennedys”

Best Actress (Drama or Dramedy): Tiffany Rachelle Stewart for “Black Rose”

Best Actor (Drama or Dramedy): David Koechner for “The Parker Tribe”

Best Director: Andrew W. Chan for “The Midnight Anthology”

Best Editor: Tulica Singh for “Croissant Man”

Best Writing: Bob Borrmann and Luca Stein for “Dead John”

NYTVF Critics Award: “The Parker Tribe” created by Jane Baker (Brattleboro, VT) Living life in suburban Philadelphia in the late 1970s is both hilarious and painful for Mary “Jo” Parker, a 13-year-old tomboy in a large Irish Catholic family.

NYTVF “Best of the Fest”: (tie) “The Katering Show” created by Kate McLennan and Kate McCartney (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) “The Parker Tribe” created by Jane Baker (Brattleboro, VT)

TVWriter™ congratulates all the talent at the festival for being so damn – talented!

For more about this year’s festival, including info about who got development deals and network awards, THIS IS THE PLACE TO CLICK.