2014 Nicholl Fellowship Finalists Announced

The Motion Picture Academy’s Nicholl Fellowship may not be for TV writing per se, but it’s absolutely the most important contest aspiring screen and television writers can win in terms of future prospects. Which means that these finalists definitely are worth learning about:

academy-of-motion-picture-arts-and-sciencesby the Deadline Team

About half of the finalists for the 2014 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwritingare from the Los Angeles area, but the rest span four states and three continents. The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences today released its list of 10 screenplays whose writers are on the shortlist for as many as five $35,000 fellowships.

The winners, judged by the Academy Nicholl Fellowships Committee, will be announced during a November 13 ceremony and live read at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The finalists and their screenplays are Sam Baron (Cambridge, UK), The Science Of Love And Laughter; Alisha Brophy (Los Angeles) and Scott Miles (Austin), United States of Fuckin’ Awesome; Robert D. Cain (Los Angeles), Gagarin; Josh Golden (Buffalo Grove, IL), Road To Oz; Melissa Iqbal (London), The Death Engine; Ben Jacoby (New York), Earthwalkers; Duncan Samarasinghe (Dandenong, Australia), The Caretaker; Ryan Trevino (Seal Beach, CA) and Robert Wolfe Dunn (Los Angeles), Arcadia; Mike Van Waes (West Hollywood), Grave Hearts; Sallie West (Charleston, SC), Moonflower.

You can – and if you’re really into showbiz you should – read more important stories from Deadline HERE.