Fox Selects 10 Finalists for 2013 Writers Intensive

…And among them is an LB/ TVWriter™ fave, Sal Calleros, who has contributed quite a bit to this site in all its incarnations over the years. Congrats, Sal. Congrats, everyone!


by Michael O’Connell

Fox Audience Strategy has named the sophomore class of its Writers Intensive (FWI), the company’s talent-nurturing program that launched in late 2011 and named its first fellow last year. One individual from the company’s talent-cultivating program, which recently expanded to include film and book components, will see their script developed.

The 10 finalists, chosen for diverse voices, backgrounds and experiences, will get even more well-rounded tutelage this year with feature film, book (HarperCollins) and digital content all falling under the umbrella of FWI.

“I couldn’t be more impressed with the caliber of this year’s 10 FWI finalists — not only are they unbelievably talented, accomplished writers, but they all have really fresh, unique creative perspectives that we would like our entertainment businesses to tap into and grow,” said Fox Group audience strategy senior vp Nicole Bernard. “Reflecting a broad range of viewpoints — both in front of and behind the camera — remains a top priority for our company, and we’re fortunate to have so many of our writers and producers supporting us in these efforts.”

FWI received more than 400 nominations and submissions for this crop. The 10 finalists will spend the next 13 weeks working on scripts and attending sessions with talent such as Hart Hanson (Bones), Shintaro Shimosawa (The Following), Andre and Maria Jacquemetton (Mad Men) and Zal Batmanglij (Sound of My Voice).

This year’s FWI writers and their respective representatives include:

  • Angela Allen (The Cartel)
  • Yule Caise (Lichter, Grossman, Nichols, Adler & Feldman)
  • Sal Calleros (Rothman, Brecher, Kim / Magnet Management)
  • Carol Doyle (The Gersh Agency)
  • Sara Endsley (Rothman, Brecher, Kim / The Shuman Company)
  • Warren Hsu Leonard (ICM / Circle of Confusion)
  • Nick Ozeki (Independent)
  • Chitra Sampath (Ragna Nervik Management)
  • Theo Travers (ICM / Artists International)
  • Marisa Wegrzyn (Abrams Artists Agency / Myra Model Management)

FWI selected Thomas Wong as 2012 fellow last June. This year’s fellow will see their submitted scripted purchased and developed jointly by Fox Broadcasting Company, 20th Century Fox Television and FX

Additionally, one FWI finalist will be selected to apply to the Fox Writers Studio on a first-look basis and another will be chosen to pitch their script to HarperCollins.

Note to those who have asked us about this program in the past: You’ll notice that everyone chosen is already a pro, with respected representation. This isn’t a “contest” for newbies, kids. Sorry.