(Some of) This Year’s Daytime Emmys Writing Awards

by TVWriter™ Press Service

(UPDATE: We should remove the “(Some of)” from the title of this post because Sunday, the rest of the Daytime Emmys were given out, including the one for “Best Writing Team for a Drama Series.” Winning that one was the team for “The Young and the Restless,” on CBS.  TVWriter™ congratulates the team, although we wish the P.R. had included their names. The way this whole thing is run is, well, just plain wrong.)

Last Friday, the Daytime Emmy Creative Arts Awards were at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. More award also were given out at the 46th Annual Daytime Emmys, and we’ll deal with those in another post. (Why are there different ceremonies? Well, it’s a long story, kids, and too complicated to go into here, so how about we just use this one word label: “Privilege.” Anyway, here are Friday’s Writing Awards:)

Outstanding Writing for a Digital Drama Series

After Forever (Amazon Prime Video)
Co-Head Writers
Michael Slade, Kevin Spirtas

Outstanding Writing for a Preschool Animated Program

Ask the StoryBots (Netflix)
Jeff Gill, Evan Spiridellis, Gregg Spiridellis, Jacob Streilein, Nate Theis, Eddie West

Outstanding Writing for an Animated Program

The Loud House (Nickelodeon)
Sammie Crowley, Karla Sakas Shropshire, Sheela Shrinivas, Kevin Sullivan, Whitney Wetta
Story Editor
Mike Rubiner

Outstanding Writing for a Children’s, Preschool Children’s, Family Viewing

Odd Squad (PBS)
Head Writer
Tim McKeon
Writer/Story Editor
Mark De Angelis
Adam Peltzman
Junior Story Editor
Robby Hoffman

Outstanding Writing Special Class

The Ellen DeGeneres Show (SYNDICATED)
Head Writers
Jason Gelles, Kevin A. Leman II, Lauren Pomerantz
Alison Balian, Jason Blackman, Jamie Brunton, Ellen DeGeneres, Bente Engelstoft, Rick Mitchell, Gil Rief, Troy Thomas, Michael Tiberi, Adam Yenser

Congratulations from TVWriter™ to members of what appear to be a family of second class citizens of the TV Academy being honored here in a way not nearly appropriate to what they’ve achieved.

More Daytime Creative Arts Award Winners are HERE

The full list of all the Daytime Emmy Award Winners is HERE