Fox Announces 2014 Writers Intensive Winners


by Team TVWriter™

Writing partners Ed Gonzalez and Jeremy Haft have been selected as this year’s Fox Writers Intensive Fellows. 

Chosen from the third annual class of 10 FWI finalists, Gonzalez and Haft have inked a script development deal with Fox Broadcasting Co and 20th Century Fox Television. In addition, the writing duo have been staffed on Fox’s new drama, Empire.

Along with Gonzalez and Haft, the 2014 FWI class included finalists Nazrin Choudhury, Tze Chun, Nate Clark, Sonay Hoffman, Johanna Lee, Katherine Nolfi, Gabby Revilla, Bernadette Rivero, Kevin Seccia, Erik Shapiro and Debby Wolfe. Following their completion of the FWI, all of the finalists are being submitted for potential staffing on Fox entertainment productions.

Launched in 2013, the Fox Writers Intensive aims to develop diverse, experienced writers and nurture talent for potential staffing on Fox productions. Last year, Fox Audience Strategy expanded the program to provide opportunities across multiple Fox companies, including HarperCollins and 20th Century Fox Film.

“Three years in, the Fox Writers Intensive continues to excel in finding fresh creative voices for our TV, film, literary and digital productions,” said Fox Broadcasting Company COO Joe Earley.

Gonzalez and Haft are represented by Summit Talent & Literary Agency and Luber Roklin Entertainment, and are co-writers, with John Singleton of the upcoming feature film TUPAC, about the life of rapper Tupac Shakur – so if you’ve been thinking that this so-called “contest” was for newbies and would give you the foot in the door you really need, hey, think again. It’s for peeps who already have at least one foot in. What winners get is the cache to throw their whole bodies into the room.