2020 Daytime Emmy Writing Awards

The 2020 Daytime Emmys were given out last Friday night, and our quick look indicates that the most complete listing of the winners was at Deadline.Com, so we urge you to get your completist selves over there ASAP.

Here at TVWriter™, of course, our primary concerns are the “Best Writing” category, and since we aren’t huge daytime TV experts we were surprised to see that this year (maybe every year?) there were only two categories for daytime writing, namely–

Outstanding Writing Team for a Drama Series
WINNER: “The Bold and the Beautiful”
“The Young and the Restless”
“General Hospital”
“Days of Our Lives”

Outstanding Writing for a Special Class Special
“Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration”

Most websites that announced the Emmy winners ignored the writing categories in their listings. And most of those that did ignored the nominees and, for that matter, the actual names of the writers involved.

Inasmuch as TVWriter™ (well, LB anyway) had a horse in this race (buddy Michele Val Jean), we’re fairly familiar with the The Bold and the Beautiful writing staff, and of course everyone has a thing for Sesame Street, so here are our personal congrats to:

The Bold and the Beautiful Writers

Head Writer: Bradley P. Bell
Co-Head Writer: Michael Minnis

Patrick Mulcahy
Adam Dusevoir
Shannon Bradley
Michele Val Jean
Rex M. Best
Tracey Ann Kelly
Mark Pinciotti

Sesame Street’s 50th Anniversary Celebration Writer

Christine Ferraro

Quick question about the announcements themselves. Why was the Drama Series announcement made on the Emmy TV broadcast but the Special Class Special one made after the show?

For that matter, why was the Special Class Special class called the “Special Class Special Class?”

The devil is, indeed, in the deets.






We're looking forward to your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.